This category of membership was created to recognise those who are making significant contributions to civil society in Wales in their fields of expertise.

Fellows of the IWA want to do more than simply keep abreast of what is going on in Wales.

They place a high value on its work in strengthening Welsh civil society and have expertise to contribute to the IWA and its work in helping Wales to flourish.

They believe strongly in helping the IWA to maintain its independence.

If you would like to discuss becoming a Fellow, or nominate someone else, please get in touch with Maria Drave at [email protected].


Joel Strange

Director, Economic Consulting, Grant Thornton UK LLP

Menna Richards

Rob Humphreys

Cllr Susan Elsmore

Judith Marquand

Huw Davies

Dame Elan Closs Stephens

Acting Chair of the BBC Board

Professor Nickie Charles

Tom Jones

Rt Hon Lord John Thomas

Professor Ian Hargreaves

Helen Molyneux

Reverend Aled Edwards

Dr Rebecca Heaton

Director of Sustainability, Lloyds Banking Group

Professor Gary Beauchamp

Professor of Education, Cardiff Metropolitan University

David Dixon

Alan Francis

Director, Gaunt Francis Architects

Professor Nigel Thomas

Professor Emeritus, UCLan

Kevin Gardiner

Global Investment Strategist, Rothschild & Co

Jeffrey James MBE OStJ

Chairman, Trustee, Board member: Executive Council Leader

Glyndwr Cennydd Jones

Writer on Constitutional Matters

Roger Lewis

Chair Welsh Government Review of Cadw

Nigel Griffiths

Commercial Director, Lexington Corporate Finance

Mark Barry

Professor of Practice in Connectivity, Cardiff University

Dan Langford OBE

Independent Consultant & Strategic Advisor

Menai Owen-Jones

Chartered Director, CEO, NED and Independent Adviser

Professor Richard Rawlings

Chair of Public Law, UCL

Sir Richard Lloyd Jones

Prof Laura McAllister

Professor Laura McAllister

Professor of Public Policy, Cardiff University

Life Fellows

Professor Jane Aaron

Dr Dai Lloyd

Baron Brian Griffiths

Paul Cornelius Davies

Dr Ruth Williams

Owen Gareth Hughes

Professor Gerald Holtham

Managing Partner, Cadwyn Capital LLP

Gareth Ioan

Eilian Williams

Christine Eynon

Jonathan Evans

Rt Hon Lord Dafydd Wigley

Paul Twamley

William Tudor John

Huw Edwards

Andris Taurins

John Bryant

Tony Bagnall

Dr Eurwen Price

Alan Peterson

Nigel Annett

Chris Jones

Dr David Lloyd Owen

Ron Jones

Philip Cooper

Dafydd Bowen Lewis

Nigel Bowen-Morris

Helen Jones

Granville John

Robert John

David Melding

Martin Tinney

Dafydd John

George Crabb

Robin Evans

Peter L Griffiths

Ned Thomas

David M Evans

Dyfrig James

Chairman and Partner, D.M. JAMES SERVICES LTD

Huw Roberts

Chair, Deryn Consulting Ltd

Professor Judy Hutchings

Richard Eley

Dr Neil Thompson

Educational Entrepreneur and Well-being Expert

Carole-Anne Davies

Chief Executive, Design Commission for Wales

Roger Thomas

Solicitor, Member of Law Society

Wiard Sterk

Freelance Consultant

Dr Daniel Cunliffe

Associate Professor

Emeritus Professor Phillip Jones OBE

Welsh School of Architecture, Cardiff University

Jonathon Poyner

Professor Steven Kelly

Professor of Biomedical Sciences

Chris Rowlands

Dr Elin Jones

David Clubb

Chair of NICW

Ifan Evans

Executive Director of Strategy, Digital Health and Care Wales

Simon Baynes MP

Member of Parliament, House of Commons

Ceri Doyle

Chief Executive, Newport City Homes

Honorary Life Fellows

Dr Anwen Elias

Reader in Politics, Aberystwyth University

Gruff Rhys

Suzy Davies

Former Shadow Minister

Henry Engelhardt

Felicity Evans

BBC Wales Journalist and Broadcaster

Huw M Lewis

Hywel Wiliam

Owen Sheers

Lynda Davies

Lee Waters MS

Deputy Minister for Climate Change

Rocio Cifuentes

The Children's Commissioner for Wales

Cynthia Ogbonna

Sir Evan Paul Silk

Independent Political Organization Professional

Angela Graham


Geraint Talfan Davies

Chair, The Cyfarthfa Foundation

Rhys David

Writer and Editor

John Osmond

Writer, Journalist, Former Political Candidate

Beti Williams MBE

Delith Thorpe

Clare Johnson

David Stevens

Professor Calvin Jones

Professor of Economics, Cardiff University